The Hell You Say!

The Bastard Junior Strikes Again!!!

BUFF

with 4 comments

Buff.jpg

Most people who like military aircraft love the fighter. They like the sleek lines, the speed, and the whole "go fast" feel of a fighter. I guess that makes me part of the minority in the aircraft enthusiast crowd.

I like bombers.

Not the "Go Fast" bombers like the B-1 Lancer that my adopted brother works on day after day.( Hat tip to John for his service to the country) My aircraft of choice is the B-52 Stratofortress. It is a large HUGE aircraft. It can carry more destructive force than has ever been unleashed in the history of warfare. I have to give a hat tip to the bomb wing from Barksdale AFB in Bosier City, LA. Every time the pilots of those flying arsenals come over to the Lone Star state, it chills my bones to see them flying in formation, and doing touch and go's. I don't know who coined the nick-name for these magnificent birds, but they have had BUFF hung on them for decades. (Big Ugly Fat Fucker).
To ALL the men and women of the United States Air Force: God bless you for all you do to insure that if the time arises for the birds to fly….. They Fly!!!!

Written by bofhjr716

May 11, 2006 at 8:27 pm

Posted in General

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the kind words for our military, we do appriciate them. Now for some education…….The B-1b can carry 14,000lbs MORE than the BUFF and get on target a hell of a lot faster. The buff only carries 70K pounds munitions the B-1B 84K pounds. The B-1 has been modified over the years to become a premier bomber of the AF. I have been downrange with this plane when we were asked to do the impossible and we did it!!! Its not the plane its the PEOPLE that pulled it off. and you have my word when called upon we WILL do it again!!!!!!! Yes I love my job.
    The AF site on the B-1
    http://www.af.mil/factsheets/factsheet.asp?fsID=81

    The AF site on the B-52
    http://www.af.mil/factsheets/factsheet.asp?fsID=83

    Bofhjr

    May 11, 2006 at 8:40 pm

  2. Well I stand corrected, but I still love the Buff

    bofhjr716

    May 11, 2006 at 8:51 pm

  3. Kick ass planes, kick ass people. That is what you need to have a good Air Force. Thanks to Yankee and all of his compatriots for all they do!

    bofh69

    May 11, 2006 at 10:29 pm

  4. Thanks to my adopted son JOHN!!!

    Mom

    May 12, 2006 at 7:07 am


Leave a Reply

