The Hell You Say!

The Bastard Junior Strikes Again!!!

New Job

with 3 comments

So today I started my new job.   I work for a small but well established fuel injection and turbocharger repair, rebuild outfit here in Fort Worth. (( Bonus……7/10 of a mile from house)) My primary task, is to give them a violent shove into the 21st century.  This system is every Network admins worst nightmare. 6 AS/400e terminals +1 server , 5 stand-alone Windows boxes…. and a stand-alone Win2K advanced server as a DC.

My first thought as I am doing triage is this…..

WHO IS THE IGNORANT FUCK THAT ENGINEERED THIS?!?!?!?

Who might you ask?

None other than an individual who worked for IBM for 35 years.

Now I am sure this person is smart, that goes without saying. This person wrote a very nice program to handle all the day-to-day stuff.  Inventory, time clock, AR/AP stuff. and it is pretty much virus immune.  The long and short of the situation, is that the program was written in 1982, and offers little room for scalability. 

“Why is it not scalable?” you may ask.

Answer:  I am not a fucking AS/400 Programmer.  I know the mechanics of how it works…..In theory.  I explained this to my new boss, who in his Mister Rogers demeanor replies ” I understand this will be a learning experience for you. I have faith in your abilities.”  

Oh Boy.

So I call the programmer. 

Me :” Hello, I am the new IT guy, an I was wondering if you could give me an overview so I don’t break your toy”

 Programmer:  ” Sure……for 350 bucks an hour, and it will take 2 weeks”

Me: ” I am not looking for an IBM Cert on the whole AS/400 line, just want to know what not to do”

 Programmer:  ” Sure…..For 350 bucks an hour, and it will take 2 weeks”

Me:WTF???   ” Thank you, I will be in touch”

Click.

Ok, I prayed for a real IT job, and here it is…….. Dumbass

Written by bofhjr716

August 8, 2006 at 9:25 am

Posted in General

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Now that is funny – to me….I know it isn’t to you.

    Mom

    August 15, 2006 at 10:10 am

  2. you lost me at 6 AS/400e terminals….but grabbed my attention at $350 bucks an hour and it’ll take me two weeks. is the guy doing brain surgury on every employee or what. two questions; how do these guys make that kinda cash and two why didn’t my guidance counselor ever tell me about these kinda jobs?

    1steak

    August 23, 2006 at 7:49 pm

  3. Congratulations on the new job dude!

    donna

    September 6, 2006 at 11:21 pm


Leave a Reply

