The Hell You Say!

The Bastard Junior Strikes Again!!!

Relfection

with one comment

It amazes me the things we reflect on.   To some it’s past periods of wealth, happiness, and popularity.  To some it’s a lost love.   We can choose to look back the same way we look forward.  Is the glass half empty or half full?    Well for me it’s half full.    There are times I have enjoyed with many folks very dear to me that will never come around again.. for those people are gone now.   While this is sad, I choose to look back at these times and think that my life was enriched, and I am a better person for having known them.

With the human lifespan ever approaching 100,  I look back on the first 1/3 of my life.    I see a lot of bad choices, wrong decisions, and hurt.  But I see a lot of good as well.   How we approach our future depends on the lessons we have learned in our past.  For if we fail to learn from history, our own personal history included…..  We are doomed to relive it.

So looking forward, I think I have made a few choices that are good ones.  Just a few are

#1  Never miss an opportunity to let those I care about know what they mean to me.

#2  Never take for granted the presence of family, because they won’t be around forever.

#3  Never miss an opportunity to have a little fun, because life is serious enough without my help.

#4  Make the time for what’s important, not just when it’s convenient.

This is by no means a comprehensive list, but I think it’s a good place to start.

Written by bofhjr716

July 17, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Posted in General

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Adam, I think those are the most profound words you have ever written or spoken. I wholeheartedly agree with everything. The only thing I would add to your list, a #5, if you will, is ‘never forget that family is everything, for without them, you are nothing’. I, unfortunately, did not come to those conclusions until I was much older than you are now. I am glad you beat me to it on this one.

    Very well done post!!!

    bofh69

    July 17, 2010 at 7:14 pm


Leave a Reply

